WTFness!

Standard

I am an avid reader of Amit Varma’s blog India Uncut but he has been MIA for the last couple of months and I sorely miss his posts, especially the WTFness section. WTFness honors the ridiculousness of life and I am grateful to my blog dost Shobhaa De for introducing me to his page. I still haven’t read his debut novel My friend Sancho yet (its been on my list) but if it is anything like his posts, I am sure it will be entertaining at the very least.

It may very well be that I see patterns where there are none. In my observation, increasingly in the last decade or so Indian writers have shed their predecessors’ somewhat whimsical overindulgence in long flowery passages (a colonial hangover?)and embraced a la minimalist trend; although they haven’t reached Palahniuk heights yet. This relatively new found love for economy of words and precision have also brought with it an unapologetic brand of desi humor that is fresh and crass at times. In that sense, White Tiger (for me) was a coming of age Indian writing in English. I loved the book from its opening letter to the Chinese president to its closing line. Last summer, undettered by its plunge in the bathtub I blow-dryed the book and gifted it to a Chinese friend whom I met through Woeser La. I hope he took better care of it than I did. All this is not to say the more classical Anglo-Indian writing style faces extinction. Far from it. Parallel to the new ‘developments’ there will always be a stylized Rushdie writing his/her magnum opus every couple of years.

Going back to Amit Varma, I have been trolling his blog for a new post. All in vain. Nonetheless while browsing his archives I found this post on promoting reading, which I wanted to share http://indiauncut.com/iublog/article/kindle-your-children/ I wonder if you can download Tibetan language books on Kindle. That will be a feat! Amongst contemporary Tibetan language writers, I would love to read Dhondup Gyal’s work. Come to think of it are  there any articles on Tibetan literary movements? I am an ignoramus.

P.S. I have been doing some background reading on feminist theories. So the next post might be an analytical rant. Happy April Fool’s Day!

8 responses »

  1. On Tibetan literature — there’s beginning to be work done. A collection of (scholarly) essays called Modern Tibetan Literature and Social Change (Hartley and Schiaffini-Vedani, eds. Duke University Press, 2008). Includes articles by Tsering Shakya, Pema Bhum, Sangye Gyatso, Hortsang Jigme and others (many of them American scholars). Not all articles are equally good but the ones by the Tibetans are. Thanks for your blog; it’s very interesting.

  2. Hi there Drugmo la. Am loving your blog. Wish had discovered this blog earlier. I like Amit Varma’s blog too. You could follow him on Twitter. He does tweet updates now and then.

    Where do you live now? Are you still in Lhasa? I am a Tibetan born and brought up in India and would love to connect more with you.

    Tashi Deleks.

    • Aqua, I have seen his tweets on the blog although I haven’t logged on to twitter for ages! Right now can’t even remember my log in information lol Thanks for visiting the blog.

  3. Just to let you know that the RSS feed of your blog is featured on the new Tibet Central website: http://www.tibetcentral.net/

    If you have any suggestions for additional RSS feeds or other ways of making this site even more useful, please let me know. If you could include a link back to http://www.tibetcentral.net/ on your blog it would most helpful in making it visible to more people and hence increase traffic to your and other Tibet-related blogs.

Leave a Reply

