The Waterfall at Night

Standard
Gyal writes of the waterfall, breaking through a century of stylized form
Strange but the imagery was reminiscent of Kubla Khan
I wonder if he ever read Coleridge’s work?
Maybe, maybe not.
 
I was in the town of Chentsa
Everywhere there were signboards in Tibetan, Chinese and broken English
One boasted of the best meal and another a rendezvous with girls, dyed hair and plastic implants
In these changing times are monks no more gullible than street ‘prostitutes’?
The sun scorched through the wide brimmed hat and duly burnt my insidious thought.
 
Outside the town now I walked in silence near the fateful waterfall again
The pony had jumped into the swirling depth, its head playing hide and seek
A little while later it disappeared under the froth and dark water
My movement predetermined, I looked to the left
As usual he was dead, the eyes turned inward in permanent sleep
I yanked his hair at the betrayal and whispered, “A fucking waste!”
 
Flies hovered the air in avid anticipation, their flapping wings tearing at my heart
A paper wind horse flew from a car window and landed on the rocks
Someone’s foolish hope- on which no doubt the sky will piss in sheer abandonment.
5 responses »

  1. Such apathy and cynicism coming from someone who I assume is well below the age of 80, is somewhat saddening. While I fully understand the trauma and disconnects that pervade Tibetan life today, I also celebrate our people’s ability to push back and reinvent traditional lives, which I believe will result in us being able to survive and move on when political and social dynamics change in Tibet and China, which is an inevitability. Cheer up and make forward motion instead of just making poetic observations.

Leave a Reply

